News Biography Discography Shop Expandis Expandibubble Media Links
News Biography Discography Shop Expandibubble Expandis Media Links


In the same reflective tradition as 'Between Two Worlds' this album introduces a slight 'Celtic' influence which resurfaced recently on 'Solstice'.

'Mannanin Mist' (track 5) is built around a live performance on the Isle of Man during a 'Greenpeace' sponsored Performing Arts week which saw me playing recorder and guitar in the heart of Balla GlassGlen, the audience being led through the forest by a mile long chain of wind chimes hanging from the trees. One of my more unusual gigs!

The melodies on this album have an epic quality in keeping with the wild countryside on the Isle of Man.


Album Details

Released 1993
by New World Music.

  1. Alchemy (12:13)
  2. Manifestation (7:58)
  3. Homage (5:39)
  4. Love Potion (6:59)
  5. Mannanin Mist (12:51)
  6. Magic mirror (6:03)

All music composed, arranged and performed by Phil Thornton (track 1 written with Harvey Summers).

Ambient sounds recorded in Balla Glass Glen, Isle of Man.


~ Original sleeve notes by Carmen Willcox ~

Laden with vibrant textures and intriguing, expansive instrumentation, Alchemy is an entrancing, enticing music. Subtle, bewitching and exotically sensual, this is a performance that reaches the heights of luxurious pleasure.

Instruments include recorders, e-bow and 12 string guitars, keyboards and percussion.



< Previous  :  Discography  :  Next >