News Biography Discography Shop Expandis Expandibubble Media Links
News Biography Discography Shop Expandibubble Expandis Media Links


During the recording of 'Eternal Egypt' there were long breaks in the process due to Hossam Ramzy (co-writer) being on a major world tour with Page and Plant (Led Zeppelin). While that was going on the idea for this album was formulated, in the end 'Pharaoh' was released first!

One of the main inspirations was the 'vocoder' sound I had been developing with Hossam, another was discovering the 'Saaidi' rhythm! Although 'Pharaoh' has a less 'Egyptian' sound than the albums recorded with Hossam Ramzy, it has a quality which I am particularly pleased with, it's almost as though it composed itself, and I was used only as a pair of hands!


Album Details

Released 1995 by New World Music.

  1. Procession To The Centre Of The Pyramid (11:05)
  2. Crossing The Celestial River (9:57)
  3. Gateway To The Heavens (11:08)
  4. Thoth, Weigher Of Souls (9:53)


  • Phil Thornton - Keyboards, vocoder, e-bow guitar, octapad, beenpod, rainstick, bells and chicken flute.
  • Steven Cragg - Tibetan Horn
  • Hossam Ramzy - Saaidi rhythm loop

All music composed, arranged and performed by Phil Thornton.

Recorded and mixed at the Expandibubble studio, Sussex, England.


~ Original sleeve notes by Carmen Willcox ~

The exotic world of ancient Egypt is evoked in an extraordinary, visionary music.

Sustained chords with the delight of eastern fragrances conjure up shimmering images of a regal culture before the sultry rhythms of a mesmeric percussion provide a more earthly sensuality.

Middle Eastern instrumentation and rhythms are joined by the superb electronic mastery of Phil Thornton's keyboards, allowing you to relax into a trance like vision of an ancient civilisation that was unsurpassed in its dedication to a spiritual interpretation of life.


< Previous  :  Discography  :  Next >